Home Page




At Stenson Fields Primary Community school, children learn how computers and computer systems work, and will build their own programs. They will create a range of content, which may be linked to the cross curricular themes they are studying. In addition, the children will learn about the importance of online safety, and life skills which will ensure they use computers in a safe and appropriate manner. The computing curriculum will ensure that all children have the skills and knowledge they need to use technology creatively, safely and in the wider world. Children will be taught to apply computing terminology and vocabulary (debugging, evaluation, tinkering, persevering, decomposition, patterns, creating, logic, algorithms, abstraction and collaborating) to their everyday learning. Teaching will ensure that opportunities are provided for pupils to solve problems within the computing curriculum and transfer these skills into other areas.


The computing curriculum is split into four main areas of learning: digital literacy, computer science, information technology and digital citizenship. These areas will be covered throughout each year group through discreet teaching and cross curricular links. All year groups will follow the Knowlsley CLC Primary Computing Scheme of Work 2018. This provides children with ‘a range of exciting activities and open ended/independent challenges, based on the essential requirements of the computing programme of study’, which builds on previous understanding and skills taught to ensure progression throughout the school.

In addition to this, digital citizenship will ensure that all areas of online safety are continually revisited. This is supported by Project Evolve (KS1 and 2).


Children will also be given the opportunity to develop their computing skills across the wider curriculum. In KS2, children will develop their word processing skills and publish a range of work linked to their topics. Across the school, children will be able to utilise technology to research and record their learning in a variety of formats.


Extra Curricular Opportunities


Provision will be made for members of the school newspaper team to develop their word processing skills.

Two children from each year 4, 5 and 6 class will have the opportunity to be a Digital Leader, attending regular sessions to enhance their computing skills and knowledge in order to support their peers within computing lessons.

Guidance for Parents and Carers

Online Safety Tips

Useful Websites