Home Page

Curriculum Provision

Curriculum Provision at Stenson Fields Primary Community School


The curriculum is all the planned activities that we design in order to promote learning and personal growth and development. We have ensured that it includes not only the formal requirements of the National Curriculum 2014, but also draws on the strengths of the wider school community and incorporates carefully planned in opportunities to provide learning experiences for our pupils that they may not have access too during their daily lives. This makes our curriculum unique to the pupils within our school.  We have also considered where extra-curricular activities can be used in order to enrich the learning experiences of the children. There is also the 'CARES' element to the curriculum which includes what the children learn from their school environment, including the way they are treated and how they are expected to behave. This personal development plays an important part in raising the standard of attainment for all children.

Learning is exciting and in a meaningful context for children. Where possible subjects and aspects of learning are linked and lessons are taught using a cross-curricular approach. Where this is not achievable subjects are taught discretely. In this way, rehearsal and application of basic skills learned in the core curriculum are applied in meaningful contexts.

Our curriculum aims:

  • To offer broad and balanced opportunities for learning
  • To achieve progress and high standards for all children
  • To equip children with essential knowledge and skills
  • To develop children’s confidence, and to encourage them to work independently and collaboratively, while developing a lifelong love of learning
  • To promote an enquiring mind and the ability to think critically and creatively
  • To promote spiritual, moral, social and cultural development
  • To develop physical skills, and recognise the importance of living a healthy lifestyle
  • To contribute to the children’s sense of identity through knowledge and understanding of the cultural heritage of Britain’s diverse society and of the local, national and global dimensions of their lives
  • To prepare children for the next steps in education, and their wider lives


The Curriculum

The Statutory Curriculum consists of:

  • The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework
  • The National Curriculum (5-16years)
  • Religious Education (following the locally agreed RE syllabus for Derbyshire)

SEND and the Curriculum

For further information regarding SEND pupils and the curriculum please click here:


SEND and the Curriculum